Special Review

5 of 5 starsReviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this property for 1 Night in Srinagar. This place is run by the same owner of Shambhala Leh. So on our way back from Leh to Srinagar we decided to stay at this hotel. It is of 6 Rooms Guest house.

Beautiful place to stay, they got a nice garden also for kids to play and elders to relax. Place is also nearby to DalLake and we will stay at this place only if we visit srinagar again.

I highly recommend the people to stay here on their vacation to Srinagar. Rooms and Clean, Big and wonderful. Service is Awesome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 4 of 5 starsLocation
    • 5 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 May 2014

Centrally located, yet quiet, where the only din is of birds chirping. You can walk almost everywhere, but if you decide to take three-wheelers, they are 50 metres from this extremely charming private house with six bedrooms. Built in simpler times, it has none of the crassness that latter day Srinagar is infested with. There are beautiful geometric patterns on the ceilings, and the bedrooms are large. Modern touches include bathrooms. The tiny sun-lit dining room is where breakfast is laid out. Meals tend to be home-style: simple and truly delicious. The owners are a Tibetan/Ladakhi couple who are one of the few people in the city to understand the concept of home stay. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Lowest prices in the market too! The only downside is no wi-fi.

Room Tip: I have only stayed there once. In room no. 1 on the ground floor. I'd ask for the same room agai...


5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 January 2014

This is originally a private residence which has recently been converted into a guesthouse. We enjoyed our stay here thoroughly... the rooms are nice and spacious .. with windows overlooking a pretty garden. The food was homemade and delicious...a highlight of our stay was being served a wazwaan meal in a tarambi bought specially for the their guests. Loved that it was so centrally located. Reasonable pricing means that i will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Srinagar.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService

 

4 of 5 starsReviewed 13 August 2013

Heritage home was like a perfect storybook home. While the rooms and the hospitality exuded with warmth and comfort and the house had its own share of historical moments (from the photos that adorned the walls), I personally liked the garden outside.Waking up to the chirping of birds and sitting alongside the variety of trees and flowers reminded me of the value of the simple pleasures of life.Srinagar was pleasantly warm at the time of my visit (August), but I could just as well imagine a snow covered garden and a warm fireplace in the the room. I was privileged enough to be served a special dinner of momos and some thai fare by Mrs Norbu followed next morning by a breakfast with special Kashmiri bakerkhani bread. It was a nice experience. Thank you Mrs Norbu for making the stay both comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 4 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 4 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 5 July 2013

I was a little uncertain if the place will be so beautiful. Its a lovely home stay run by Mrs. Narboo. We were really tired driving all the way from Leh into the valley. Although we booked one room with an extra bed, Mrs. Narboo citing 2 bigger boys with us just let us take the connecting room with no extras. It was pretty reasonable too. The rooms were rather large with equally large attached bathrooms. She has a lovely garden where I would rather just sit n read a book. Its also close to the heart of the city. Took us just 5 mns by car to reach lal chowk. I did find the extras like tea etc a lil . overpriced by all in all a lovely experience at this beautiful homestay.

Room Tip: Think the ground floor rooms over look the garden so I'd prefer those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 5 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService